Me, Dad and Editing

I suppose I should say a little bit about me, which I hate doing. But here goes.  I’m 52 (or is it 53 I can never be sure) I live in Coventry with my 84-year- old dad, Cliff, and look after him because he has mild Alzheimer’s. Now, as you can imagine this can bring about problems, but they are for now manageable. Next Saturday I’m taking him on a little holiday to a place called Hemsby on the coast of Norfolk, which we are both looking forward to.

I got into this editing game by accident really. Because of dad, I was looking for something I could do from home, and as fate would have it, this came up. I got talking to a friend on Facebook called Michelle Dunbar who is a Developmental Editor, and who was working on editing a novel for this guy R R Virdi. Michelle asked me if I’d like to help her, Ronnie Virdi said it was okay, and it all started from there. A few months later Steve Frost Editing Services Ltd was born. (I trade under the simpler S F Editing Services title.

I have no formal qualifications in editing, I’m completely self-taught, and that’s based on getting a good grounding in spelling whilst at school (back in the olden days, kids) and a lifelong love of literature.

Now, I’m the one helping a new editor, Anna Johnstone to get established (although in some ways it’s the other way around and she’s helping me)

Finally, in 2014, at the age of 50, I, much to my shock that I could do it, gained a BA (Honours) in History via part-time distance learning with the Open University.  It was one of the proudest days of my life when I received that certificate. Tinged with sadness that my mum, who’d died about a year and a half earlier was not there to see it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

